All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

When I started sixth form, all my reading went on hold apart from what we had to read for English, therefore now I am done education-wise, I can start reading what I want to now and reviewing these books as I go. My first review is of All I Know Now or All I Now Know as I keep calling it because I can’t for the life of me say the title properly. Apologies, Carrie.

This book is a non-fictional work written by the lovely Carrie Hope Fletcher – YouTuber, blogger, singer, actress…the list goes on and is essentially a handbook on how to survive the teenage. I have been a follower of Carrie’s for a good few years now so for me and many others, this book is an expansion of her videos and blog.

As a nearly-nineteen-year-old, I thought that it was too late for a lot of what she said but was just as keen to read it anyway, however I now stand corrected. Obviously the likes of surviving school are over for me but all of what Carrie has written can be used in numerous contexts. The anecdotes of her own experiences are great – some funny, some awkward and some even sad – it conveys that although she is looked up to by many, she is just like us. In true Carrie style, I read the majority of the book on the four train journeys I have made these last few days.

The book is packed with tips and advice which generally all add up to becoming a better person and being the best that we can be. The word inspiring is very apt for this book because Carrie does not tell you that in order to be successful you have to have a high-profile job like a doctor, a lawyer or an accountant, but to do what you want to do, to make your own choices in life and follow the path which will make you happiest. I personally am now very inspired and motivated to pursue my writing and write up the various stories I have in my head. I don’t think I want to go to university, despite the pressures put on by schools, but Carrie says that is alright and that you still can succeed in life and for that, I am eternally grateful.

Every teenager out there needs to read this book as it covers everything they could possibly want to know. Actually forget that, everyONE needs to read this book as the advice Carrie gives applies to every stage of our lives and there is plenty that anyone of any age can take from it, no matter what point they are at in their lives.

All in all, an incredible and eye-opening read.


imag0276

View and buy All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher on Amazon

Leave a Reply

